Upcoming 30-day challenges/trials

Posted on 31.07.2011

0


I woke up this morning with some 30-day challenges in my head. Because there are things that I want to do and try, and 30 days is a good amount of time to try them out or finally get to them.

There was a TED talk that I saw a while ago and it was about how we should never tell people about our goals or the things we are planning to do, because then we’re less inclined to get them done. And while scientific evidence DOES support that, I like to do the things I say I’m going to do, so I’m not too worried about not doing them.

In fact, I like the idea of telling my readers, so if I don’t mention something later they might say to me ‘hey, what ever happened to you doing that thing…?’, therefore calling me out. Writing it here is, to me, holding myself accountable for later.

So here are the things I plan to do in the next few months, 30 days at a time:

1. P90x, as it relates to acquiring Amerie’s legs.
My sister gave me the DVDs for this the last time I saw her, and I have been SO lax in even bothering to look at them. I know that there is stuff I have to do on them, and that it requires home fitness equipment that I don’t have.

It would be really hard to keep on top of this goal THIS month, as I’ve got my sister coming to visit and then I’m traveling for 2 weeks or so, so I think it’s better to make this the plan for NEXT month.

If I set a goal to start THIS 30-day challenge on Sept 1, then I have a month to acquire all of that equipment (maybe for cheaper in the US!!!) and mentally prepare for it. It just means that I need to finally insert the DVDs and watch them, to see what I need. Or go to a website, or something. I have to do anything more than what I’ve already been doing, which is nothing.

2. Write a short story.
This is the one that came to me this morning. I woke up thinking about Elvis, and about how to transmit the information from him in the story that I’ve been planning, and that was a great idea. I think 30 days is long enough to focus on a short story in order to get it done. I think it’s more than enough time. I don’t think I’ll need 30 days.

I also think it’s good that I’ll be spending a while with Kristi next month, so maybe we can talk about it. It’s enough time for me to do research AND write the short story, so I’m excited about that.

So, those are the plans. Maybe I’ll have more later, but those are the two that start next month and maybe the month after, too. I don’t know if I should try to do them both in the same month. I don’t need to overachieve.

Posted in: fitness, life