The DIY cut-out shirt(s) project

Posted on 22.07.2011

1


I posted an awesome link to RUNWAY DIY last week, or the week before, to an entry about making your own cut-out shirt. I finally got to work on it last weekend, and I’m posting the results here. It was mostly succesful, although there are a few things I need to fix, and things to keep in mind for next time.

I wasn’t about to make a skull (as the original poster did), but I had an idea to do a scorpion (of course) and a phoenix. The first thing I had to do was find an image or one good enough to work from to transfer to the shirts.

These two shirts were about 5-Euros each from H+M, and I had no qualms about cutting them up. I DO like the way they feel very much, so I might end up back at H+M buying ones to just wear.

As you can see here, I drew the scorpion and the phoenix on with a black sharpie and tried to keep them centered. The phoenix came out a bit bigger than expected, and that ended up hurting me in the end, but I’m not about to complain about that.

As a reminder for next time: try not to choose something with a lot of small parts to cut out, as they tend to stretch unless you buy a looser shirt. But a shirt that is TOO loose won’t work, as then it won’t hold the shape. So maybe buy a shirt that is one size bigger than you would normally buy. You’ll see why at the end.

So the next step from there was to cut them out.

At this point everything was still looking good and there was no need to worry. It was after I cut everything out and it sat for a while that I noticed that the thinnest parts were perhaps TOO thin, and were stretching and breaking.

I was able to fix this for the most part, but now would have been a good time to put the shirt on and have someone pin it for me.

Either way, it was important to make sure during the cutting that no parts left ‘flappers’, or parts that would fold or flap over. So all angles had to be secured at one or both ends.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here you’ve got the finished products, a few days later. Like, a week later. It took me about two days of NO READING to get each of these done, and a decent amount of down time between my classes. That’s all well and good, but if I were going to, say, post these on Etsy and try to sell them, they’d cost at least $75 each. Just for my time.

Here are the finished and WORN shirts:

Both of them turned out really well, but I think the scorpion was more successful.

Ont he downside, the scorpion has a claw that looks kind of dopey, but that’s neither here nor there. The shirt’s stretching was pretty unexpected, so it’s a bit wider than I’d planned. Overall, it was well-centered and not too wide to lose the image, and I’ll definitely be rocking this downtown eventually.

I LOVE the phoenix shirt, but it had a few kinks that I might still fix. Most of the ‘kinks’ were thin pieces that stretched too far and had to be saved, and I made them too long in the process. So this time I might get a helper (read: René) to stand behind me with a safety pin and pull some things in for me to sew later. Also, the phoenix was a bit too wide, and I think the image of what it actually is gets lost.

Fair is fair, and I think it’s still pretty badass, but I might try a reduxx in the future, when I’ve got a load of time on my hands. For now, though, I’m happy with it.

Both shirts WILL be worn braless, it’s the only way unless I rock a tank underneath. I think the skin tone is pretty awesome. What do you think?

Thanks for the fun project, RUNWAY DIY!!! I look forward to trying more things!

Posted in: crafts, fashion