Something new, something I should do

Posted on 02.07.2011

6


I watched this video last night as I was searching for something to assign my students. It was the winner:

Their homework from this is to write about something they’ve always wanted to do or try. If their answers are good, I’m going to make them DO them for 30 days, and keep a journal, which they have to email me once a week for homework. I think that’s a great idea, since these guys are a higher level class and it’ll be good practice. I think it’ll also be good for them, period.

I was thinking, that I should do this as well. I love the idea of it.

My idea for myself is to not take out any music from the library until I’ve gone through my entire current iTunes library. I need to do this, actually. My HD is too full. All of my music is currently backed up onto a hard drive, so I can really just delete things that I don’t listen to. I think this will be good because it’ll free up HD space, and therefore my scratch disk as well, which pulls from available HD space. That’s been an issue for me lately.

I need to do this as well, because I noticed the other day that a lot of music in my library hasn’t even been listened to. And that’s sad, to have music that no one hears.

So until further notice, at least 30 days, I’m not going to take out any more music, buy or borrow from anyone. In the meantime, I’ll be going through albums every day (since I’m on the computer every day) and listening to them, to decide whether they should be kept for immediate listening or not.

I have a system: if the album doesn’t make me want to keep listening after track 4, then I don’t need to wait to see if there’s anything good after that. All great albums grab you in the first few songs.

So, that’s what I’m going to do for at least 30 days. After that, maybe I’ll write MY short stories, the two that have wanted to be written for a few months.

What would you do, if you were doing the 30-days?

Posted in: life, music