I am completely secure in our relationship.

Posted on 16.06.2011

0


I’m writing this because I am getting REALLY tired of social networking. I’m tired of the farce of friendship. It’s just an older version of the yearbook at the end of the school year. You have a bunch of phone numbers from people who you only half-know or -like, and you feel bad for not calling them, but they don’t call you, either.

I’m tired of having to follow some sort of internet protocol that says I MUST be friends with anyone related to me, the people I had one class with in middle school, the people I wasn’t even friends with in college. I just deleted nearly 30 people from my friends list who were all people I know, just not people I’m majorly interested in. Maybe we were never close. Maybe we were and we grew apart. Maybe all they ever post about is their kids and I’m not interested. Whatever the case, the numbers are slowly sinking downward and I’m ok with that.

I’m tired of the TMI, the marketing, event invited to events in other countries, the creepers, the daily ‘status update’ complaints, etc. I’ve blocked over half of the status updates from my friends list. What the hell?

So I’m writing this here because I know who reads this. And I want YOU guys to know that even if I’m not on Facebook one day (I seriously consider it sometimes), that I’m ok with our relationship. It’s ok that we live far away and don’t talk that often. It’s ok that we might only see each other once a year, and it’s also ok if we don’t keep up some chain email just to keep in touch. It’s ok. I’m ok with it. I miss my friends, but we all have our own lives and I understand that.

I don’t expect anyone to read what I write, but I thoroughly appreciate when they do. I do this often, because I know some people are reading it, and do keep up, and that is awesome. But even if my friends don’t read, and we barely talk, and we only see each other once a year when I’m back in the states (if at all), it’s really OK. We’re still friends. And I love you even if we don’t talk all the time.

We don’t have to know the minutiae of each other’s lives to be good friends. And I’m happy to keep up emails with people who do have the time and the inclination to write (there are already a few:). But if not, I won’t take it personally. And I’ll still want to see you when I get back:)

That’s all. Have a nice night:)