There’s Pesto, and There’s Salsa.

Posted on 01.03.2011

0


The only difference between them in my life right now is a current matter of supply. As someone very much into doing everything myself, when a friend suggested that I use my leftover greens to make pesto, I was all over that.

It didn’t work out so well. And that’s ok. It’s also ok that I don’t often buy enough greens to have leftovers that I’m not using in order to make into said pesto, which is a good thing.

Also, it’s ridiculously affordable to buy some really amazing (like, mouth-watering and I am excited for Pasta night and not because it’s easy to make), yummy, Pesto right from the international section of my grocery store. And it’s healthy (as healthy as Pesto can be).

And then, there’s salsa. René and I eat tacos at least once every other week, and salsa is a staple for me since I prefer my tacos to be a salad with corn chips.

The salsa here is godawful. And now that my diet is mostly sugar free, it’s really easy to taste how sweetened the available salsa in my area is. They’re all sweet, too heavy on tomatoes, and too sweet. And they’re too sweet. As someone spoiled by the home-made salsa at Holy Frijoles, this shit will NOT fly. So I learned how to make my own salsa. And it’s amazing, and yummy, and heavy on cilantro. It reminds me of the kind I’d get in Hampden next to my nachos, guac and Frijole-ito. Or whatever it was called.

So here’s my thought process lately: While I’m very happy to go out and buy just ONE onion from the natural food store and make my own salsa, I do NOT feel the need to make my own pesto. Why? Because I don’t need to reinvent the wheel. There’s a good amount of great pesto in my immediate area and I don’t need to torture myself making it on my own. I will, however, take the necessary time out of my day to make some fresh salsa that tastes amazing. Just like I will gladly take an hour or two to make some amazing GFDF bread at home from scratch. You can’t buy that stuff at the store, and the stuff that you can buy tastes like fruit-flavored cardboard.

This applies to all aspects of my life; most notably, the cookbook project that will most likely never happen. I’d had the idea last year to collect recipes on my GFDF quest in order to make a cookbook (with photos!) for my friends. But then Jeanan gave me Cooking for Isaiah, and now that idea is starting to feel pretty useless. Why? Because that book is really good. Sure, the recipes that I’ve already collected are there waiting in my bookmarks online and are different to what is in the book, but there’s a whole book that I can tell my friends to check out that already exists. Which is awesome and saves me a load of time.

It’s a metaphor for life. And sales/marketing/new products.

If you can make something better, then do it. But if something great already exists that fits your needs, just enjoy it and save yourself the time and stress.

LOVE!

Posted in: food, life