100th post: the Kookaburra song.

Posted on 20.12.2009

0


I was in the 4th grade when I learned what a Kookaburra was. We were in music class in the other building, and were learning a new song. A song about a bird that I never got to see until last year when I made a trip to the new addition to the Baltimore Aquarium with an exotic birds feature.
My friend Jenny and I sat together in music class and learned the song. And after school we were playing at her house and made up our own song about said bird. I will not relate that song here but will tell you that it was only one verse and was a graphic description of a constipated bird. I still remember all the words.
TMI warning!
I’m writing about this because it is nearly 1AM here and I just took a shit. And I realized that whenEVER I am working really hard at that, I think of this song we made up and kind of sing it to myself. And that is pretty hysterical to me personally although I doubt anyone who reads this will feel better or smarter after doing so.
So I give you here: the original children’s version of the Kookaburra Song:

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree
Merry, merry king of the bush is he
Laugh, Kookaburra! Laugh, Kookaburra!
Gay your life must be

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree
Eating all the gum drops he can see
Stop, Kookaburra! Stop, Kookaburra!
Leave some there for me

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree
Counting all the monkeys he can see
Stop, Kookaburra! Stop, Kookaburra!
That’s not a monkey that’s me

Kookaburra sits on a rusty nail
Gets a boo-boo in his tail
Cry, Kookaburra! Cry, kookaburra!
Oh how life can be


*
A real post comes tomorrow.
Posted in: friends, life