things that I’m not

Posted on 10.09.2009

0


I have my final four negatives from two recent 4×5 shoots ready to get processed today. I was talking to Rick last night and told him that I am seriously considering selling my 4×5 outfit. I’ve been thinking about this for a while, since I made the decision to move to Germany. And I’ve got to be honest with myself.

I am not amazing with the 4×5. I bought it to try to learn more, but have come to the conclusion that this camera is not for me. I love landscapes. I love portraits. I don’t love lugging the case around and the setup, and especially with the health issues I have been dealing with lately, I am not exactly in the proper shape to be going out and shooting on my own. I’m also not planning on having that heavy case and tripod shipped overseas. WAY too expensive.

I’ve actually thought for a long time that I am more of a square-format type of person, and that I need to get off my ass and purchase a Holga. And eventually a Hasselblad. But the Holga first. Just for starters.

So today I’ve been researching pricing for the Camera, the lens and the tripod… and I came across this lady’s photostream on flickr and of course, now I want to buy lots of film and go out and shoot.

If only there were more hours in the day.
I wouldn’t say that I am not a medium/large format photographer.
I’m just not that person right now.

Tagged:
Posted in: art, my work