typical high school bullshit

Posted on 03.08.2009

0


We’re all guilty of it, and I’m writing to talk about mine this time.

I’m in the process of planning my 10-year reunion. I’m just like everyone else, there were people I got along with, people I didn’t, and people that I never got to know. I tried to remain as neutral as possible while in school, and that has become a LOT easier over the years as the distance widens between then and the present.

There are a few people though that I still hold a small grudge against. People that really hurt me, or that made me really angry. And when I see their profiles pop up on networking sites like Facebook as a ‘person I might know’, I am tempted to not add them and not tell them about the reunion at all. Of course, my sense of duty to the class as a whole wins every time and I send a friend request, then talk to them about the reunion, then add them to my email contacts and to my HS’99 list so I can keep in touch with them.

But sometimes, there are just some people that I would prefer to never have to see again. And I don’t know how to come to terms with the stuff that happened that I have just blocked out or pushed aside rather than dealing with.

It’s stupid shit, really. But I’m acknowledging that it is hard.
On one hand, I keep in touch (really keep in touch) with my friends from that time, because I want to. On the other hand, there is an entire group of people that I would rather not have to bother with, but do anyways for things like this.

Luckily it’s only every 5 years. Maybe I’ll be over it all by the 15. We’ll see.

Posted in: life, relationships