Dierdre Shea

Posted on 20.05.2009

0


is also doing some crazy interesting stuff.

http://dierdreshea.blogspot.com/

I thought I had written some notes on this work, but I guess I was wrong. I do distinctly remember discussing with my roommate (the ever intelligent and awesome K2) that this piece reminds us both of a hummingbird. And while I am sure that is NOT what Dierdre was going for, it is interesting that K2 and I thought the same thing.

That happens often, for the record, but the difference here is that she is not an artist, she’s a writer. A really great writer. We then got into a conversation about Rorschach images and Dierdre’s work.

Not that any of that is really important, it just happened. To discuss Hummingbirds and Rorschach paintings may not be entirely appropriate in this case, because it might come back as being overly condescending if not completely simple-minded.

There is a LOT more going on in this work. And I would love to read an artist statement. I haven’t read every page of her weblog/website, so I am not sure if one exists. It was definitely something I missed at the show. Possibly because I was so excited about the work, I forgot to read it. My bad. But that is neither here nor there.

I’m just going to say this now and get it out of the way so I can get on to talking about her work: Franz Klein. Ok there, I said it.

Now we can move in.

There’s emotion here. And lots of arm work. And reflection. Both literally and figuratively. And the size/format is perfect. Any larger and it would be ‘too Franz Kline’. Any smaller and the work would cease to have the effect on the viewer that it does now. Well played, Dierdre.

The materials are resin, oil, pigment, charcoal. On canvas. They make kind of a dried, cracked combination that can only be seen when you are standing really close to the work. And it’s only in a few spots. In other spots you can spot the oil mixing with everything else, which gives even more motion to these. They are already full of motion. But when you catch a glimpse of the oil from the correct angle, they become amorphous.

I’m not sure if that was intended by the artist, but it’s definitely hypnotic.

Tagged:
Posted in: art