Jaime Martinez photography

Posted on 14.05.2009

0


Jaime Martinez
Photographer
Artist Site

Posting just one photo won’t do him any justice. Go see the entire site. Please.

I don’t have a lot of time to write, and I haven’t done my research on him yet… and I am super back logged with kickass artists to write about, but I had to post him NOW because he needs to be seen. Thanks to Mr. C. Devin for posting about him.

So, I have questions. I’m a huge fan of digital art and the series that the photo to the left is a part of just made me wet my pants, because it is so simple, well done, everything. My question is this: I was looking at his CV just to see what he’s been up to, where he is from, where he went to school, etc… And I noticed that his work kind of started around 2003. Well, by started, I mean that he got a degree for photo around then and the work on his site only goes back to 2003. Awesome, btw, because that’s when I graduated too!!! Although I’m pretty sure we’re not the same age.

To the question(s):
Does he work for American Apparel/Urban Outfitters?
If not, why not?
If so, when did that start?

And did his photo work take on that aesthetic because he might be a huge fan of popular culture, which exposed him to that work, which made him want to get into photo, or was all of this just a happy coincidence like that time when photo was created on two separate continents simultaneously?

I know. The last question sounds so condescending. I don’t mean for it to be. All I mean by it is that while I was looking at his work, my thought was that it looked very ‘Urban Outfitters’ (I have to admit to enjoying some of their housewares. I’m not a huge fan of the hipster look and I think too many of their models look malnourished. /tangent). Then my office-mate (who is a really awesome guy) came over and asked the same thing.

So based on the fact that two very separate people said and thought the same thing, I have to ask the hard and possibly offensive question. I mean no offense. His work is gorgeous. Guy has already had work in magazines like Rolling Stone and Intro. I’m surprised he hasn’t been featured by more. Give him time!!

Posted in: art