Can’t Sleep, New Installation Won’t Let Me…

Posted on 04.09.2008

0


I’ve been trying to sleep for the past hour. I can’t. I’m having another night where I am being almost ATTACKED by plans for a new piece. But this one isn’t necessarily NEW, it just doesn’t exist yet. No, you cannot go to sleep until you have thought this through and committed it to paper somewhere. I actually had to get up and write/draw it out so I could get it out of my head and then try to go to sleep.

This happens to me so often, and I really appreciate the fact that my thoughts happen to work themselves out in the mornings and late at night… usually when I am laying in bed. It definitely is when I am most at ease.

I’m glad this happened, especially tonight. I wonder if it’s because I finally got all of the NYC blogs out, or because I saw my Neurologist today for a check-in. I don’t know. I’d been having some issues with this one for a few months now in regards to presentation and how to include everything I feel is necessary to get the point across. Tonight everything worked itself out for me, and I got to be there to witness it:)

It is going to be much larger than I had previously imagined, and that is mainly due to the fact that I want it to be immersive and an actual experience, rather than something you just walk up to and look at. This one uses the space to describe and hopefully mimic the feelings and ideas that go through my head every day. I really hope that it doesn’t end up being TOO literal. I always hate when the ‘meaning’ slaps you in the face.

Tomorrow or at least this weekend, I need to ask Chris and my dad for help, because it is going to require some building that I am not sure I am able to do or plan out on my own. But it will be simple enough for me to help with:)

This one is going to take a while to get done, but I’ve got all of the materials except for the wood and some mirrors so it won’t take long once those are purchased. When it IS finally complete, I hope to have already booked it for showing. Now I just need to find an installation space. Preferably not at my school, but I am not totally against that idea, either.

Ok. Let’s try this sleep thing again. Good night!

Posted in: art, my work